Whew, the title of this recipe is a mouthful, but I just felt I needed to grab your attention with all the amazing things that go into this one dish! I know it sounds like it has a lot of elements, but I promise, this is a very easy to make dinner that is totally doable for a busy weeknight.

This is a recipe that came about totally by accident. I was wracking both my brain and my fridge for something to feed us since I’d run out of options from my weekly menu plan. I found a rib-eye steak, some mushrooms and kale, and started thinking how delightful it would be to cook them all in a luxurious cream sauce and serve them piled over cheesy polenta.

Why is it that the yummiest dishes never take pretty pictures?Image

I promise you will want to lick this sauce right off the plate, and the kale chips, baked in the oven, provide a wonderful texture contrast to the meal. I’m so happy I went ahead with this little kitchen experiment, and now I can’t wait for the next time I have to clean out the fridge.

Seared Rib-eye in Mushroom-Whisky Cream Sauce with Crispy Kale and Parmesan Polenta

Ingredients:

12 oz rib-eye steak

8 oz white or baby portobello mushrooms

1 Tbsp. unsalted butter

1 shallot, minced

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1/3 cup whiskey

1/2 cup heavy cream

8 oz kale, ribs removed, coarsely chopped

1 tbsp olive oil

salt and pepper

Polenta:

1/2 cup coarse ground polenta

2 cups 2% milk

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1 Tbsp butter

 

Make the Kale Chips:

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Toss kale with 1 Tbsp olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper. Spread in a single layer on a baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes or until crisp.

Make the Steak and Cream Sauce

1) Heat a cast iron skillet over medium-high heat. Season steak with salt and pepper. Add rib-eye to pan, sear about 4 minutes on each side for medium rare. Remove steak from pan and allow to rest at least 5 minutes, then slice against the grain.

2) Add 1 Tbsp butter to pan, add shallot and garlic, sauté 1 minute until soft and golden. Add mushrooms and cook until water has evaporated. Deglaze pan with whisky, making sure to scrape the bottom, bring to a simmer. Whisk in cream and cook for 1 minute until sauce starts to bubble. Remove from heat and season to taste with salt and pepper

Make the Polenta

1) Bring milk and butter to a simmer in a medium saucepan. Reduce heat to medium and slowly add polenta in a steady stream, whisking constantly. Continue to whisk constantly until milk is completely absorbed and polenta reaches desired texture (thicker or thinner depending on your personal taste). Remove from heat and stir in Parmesan.

To Serve

Mound 1/2 cup Polenta in the center of each plate. Top with several slices of steak. Ladle sauce over steak, arrange kale chips around the outside of the plate. Eat, swoon, repeat.

 

Bon Appétit,

K

 

 

 

